SHARKFEET                                                  HOME

                                                        BCS Poll  




How the BCS works.1999

The BCS consists of the Rose Bowl presented by AT&T, Nokia Sugar Bowl, FedEx Orange Bowl and the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl. The conferences with automatic births include the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big Ten, BIG 12, PAC-10 and Southeastern Conferences.

Any Division I-A independent team, or champion of the Western Athletic Conference, Conference USA, Mountain West Conference, or any other Division I-A team which is ranked sixth or higher in the BCS standings, will also be eligible for the BCS. Otherwise, any Division I-A team can qualify for selection in the BCS if they have won at least nine college football games during the most recently completed regular season (not to include wins in exempted games) and are ranked in the top 12 of the final BCS standings.

Also, beginning with the 1999 regular season, each BCS conference is subject to review and possible loss of automatic selection by the BCS should the conference champion not have an average ranking of 12 or higher over a four-year period.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the selected Bowl in the rotation will host the national championship. The game will be played on Jan.2- 4 . The championship Bowl for the season shall select the top two teams ranked in the BCS final regular season standings.

The BCS uses regional consideration regarding other team selection. Specifically, as a member of the BCS, the Rose Bowl will host the Big Ten and Pac-10 champions in those years in which either the Rose Bowl does not have the national championship game or the Big Ten and Pac-10 champion is not ranked No. 1 or No. 2. Other regional consideration tie-ins include the SEC champion in the Sugar Bowl, the ACC or Big East champion in the Orange Bowl and the BIG 12 champion in the Fiesta Bowl.

A revised statistical rating system will be in place to determine the teams that will participate in the championship game of the Bowl Championship Series following the season. The rating system will consist of the same four major components used in 1998,and1999: subjective polls of the writers and coaches, computer rankings, schedule strength and number of losses. The two teams which have the lowest point total in the four categories will play in the national championship game.

A breakdown of the components:

I. Polls (25 percent)
Average of team's rankings in:

    Associated Press

    Coaches poll

    II. Computer rankings (25 percent)
    Average of team's seven best rankings among:

    New York Times


    Seattle Times

    Richard Billingsley

    Dunkel Index

    Kenneth Massey

    David Rothman


    III. Strength of schedule (25 percent)
    Combination of team's:

    Opponents' record (66 percent)

    Opponents' opponents' record (33 percent)
    This number gets divided by 25

    IV. Losses (25 percent)

    Team's losses count one point each

    Thats it in a nutshell ,but I recomend taking the easy road,just read the paper.Rankings come out every Monday during the season.