Huskers,cornhuskers,nebraska football tradition.

Nebraska Cornhuskers Football Winning Tradition

Nebraska Cornhuskers football has gone from Devany to Osborne to Solich,keeping
the Husker standards high and the Huskers winning tradition in check.The Cornhuskers
are unmatched in the level of play and consistancy over the past 30 years.It all started with Devany
and Osborne following suit starting in 1973,now the pressure is on Solich to continue the tradition.The
Nebraska faithfull fully expect him to produce similar results during his tenure,or will surely
draw battle lines demanding what they have come to expect,Championships.So far so good
he has used up his gimme though going 9-4 in 1998,and recieving not much more than a pat
on the back and a go get m next year.I doubt anything less than 10 or 11 wins will bring the same
raw raw raw from the Husker faithfull.


Nebraska's Winning Tradition

Nebraska's Winning Tradition Began With Devaney
Tom Osborne took over a program at the top in 1973.Hall of Fame Coach Bob Devaney named Osborne as his successor,and thus began another dynasty,or a continuation of one. Devaney posted a 101-20-2 record in his 11 years at Nebraska, won two national championships (1970 and 1971) and was the winningest active coach in the nation at the time of his retirement in 1972 with a 136-30-7 career record (.806) which includes a 35-10-5 record at the University of Wyoming.

   Osborne followed suit and was selected to the National Football Foundation College Football  Hall of Fame shortly after he announced his retirement (inducted on Dec. 8, 1998). Osborne retired as the nation's winningest active coach, posting a 255-49-3 record (.836). Among all divisions of coaches with career winning percentages of .800 or better over a span of at least 10 years, Osborne is the fifth winningest coach in Division I-A history, while the late Devaney is not far behind at No. 11. 

  Devaney and Osborne were the third, Division I ,coaching duo to post back-to-back 100-win careers at the same institution (following Penn State's Rip Engle and Joe Paterno and Georgia Tech's John Heisman, Bill Alexander and Bobby Dodd), but were the first pair to do so in an unbelievable 21 years. Devaney and Osborne had a combined 356-69-5 record for an incredible .834 winning percentage (36 years, 430 games). 

   Solich went 9-4 in his inaugural season, matching the wins of Devaney and Osborne in their first years and posted a school-best 12-1 record his second year to post a school-best 21-5 two-year record. Devaney went 10-1 his second year (1963) winning his first Big Eight Championship, while Osborne first won 10 games his third year when he also won a share of his first Big Eight title (1975).

  Solich is most likely begining his head coaching stint much to late to equal or surpass the records and achievments of those before him.Even if he were younger it is unlikely he could have the success of two of college footballs greatest coaches.To do so would be a remarkable if not unbelievable feat for never have three coaches in a row at the same institution achieved that level of success.One thing is for sure ,the fans expect Solich to carry on the tradition. 

Winning Tradition Keeps on Going
Nebraska, the nation's seventh winningest program all time, boasts a 743-297-40 record in 1,080 games (.707). In the last 30 years, NU is tops, posting a record of 309-56-5 for an .842 winning percentage (370 games), an average of 10.3 wins per year. In terms of wins, the Huskers are third in NCAA Division I-A history with 743. NU has won 10-or-more games 20 times in the Devaney/Osborne/Solich eras, went undefeated and untied through the regular season seven times, played in nine national title games and won the championship five times. Since the first Nebraska season in 1890, Husker teams have won 11 or more games 11 times, including six of the last seven years. NU has won 12 or more games seven times; and 13 or more three times (in 1971, 1994 and 1997). No one can match Nebraska's current 38-year winning season streak, or its 32-year nine-win streak, and by the same token, no other school has averaged 10 wins per season over the last 30 years. Nebraska's 38 years of consecutive winning records is tied for second all time with Alabama's 38 (1911-50) and behind Notre Dame's 42 (1889-1932). NU's 32-year streak with at least nine wins is best all time. Nebraska (702), Notre Dame (736) and Alabama (728) are the only three teams to have won 700 games in this century (totals include bowl games following the 1999 regular season, even if games were played in January of 2000).

Nebraska Tough At Home
Nebraska is 81-3 at home the last 13 years, losing to two teams who went on to win a share of the national championship (Colorado in 1990 and Washington in 1991), and to Texas in 1998. The Huskers are 442-122-20 (.774, 584 games) in Lincoln, 317-99-13 (.754, 429 games, 77 years) in Memorial Stadium (since 1923) and 12-1 at home under Coach Solich with a current seven-game winning streak. Nebraska has not lost more than one home game in a season since a 5-2 home record in 1980. Since 1980, the Huskers are 124-10 at Memorial Stadium, with eight of those losses coming against teams that finished in the top six in the final AP poll. Included in that stretch are three of the six longest home winning streaks in school history, including a school-record 47-game streak (fifth longest in nation all time) from 1991 to 1998, a 19-game streak from 1988 to 1990 and 21 straight from 1981 to 1984. Nebraska also had a 33-game home winning streak from 1901-1906 (which is tied for the 11th-longest streak in Division I-A). Since 1986 (13 years), NU is 87-5 in Lincoln, with losses to Colorado, Washington, Oklahoma (twice) and Texas. Those five teams posted a combined mark of 53-6-1 in their respective seasons. Nebraska has not been shut out at home since a 12-0 loss to Kansas State in 1968 (198 games). NU has posted 38 unbeaten and untied home seasons. In 1999, the Huskers set a new attendance record in Memorial Stadium vs. USM when 77,826 fans attended, bettering the previous record of 77,617 who saw the home season opener vs. California.

NCAA Record 233 Consecutive Sellouts in Memorial Stadium
Nebraska's Memorial Stadium boasts an NCAA-record 233 consecutive sellouts, dating back to Hall of Fame Coach Bob Devaney's first year in 1962 (vs. Missouri on Nov. 3). NU is 207-26 during the 233 sellouts (50-9 under Devaney, 145-16 under Osborne, 12-1 under Solich). The mark includes a 35-18 record against ranked teams. NU is 4-0 in the four milestone sellouts during that period (50th, 100th, 150th and 200th sellouts), including a 24-7 win over No. 2 Colorado on Oct. 29, 1994, for the 200th sellout.

Division I-A Consecutive Sellout Leaders
1. Nebraska 233
2. Notre Dame 150
3. Penn State 55


sharksupersmall.gif (6508 bytes)


Polls | Radio | Tickets | History | Roster | News | Links

E-Mail | Big 12 | Depth Chart | Statistics | Pictures

| Recruiting | Schedules | Scores | Vote | Jokes