N                                        Husker Football

Kansas City: Big Twelve Media Conference

 Husker football was at the top of every list during
the Big Twelve Media conferences,held in Kansas
City.The media who cover the Big XII conference
don't expect to see any major changes in the
conference power structure this coming season.

Polls | Radio | Tickets | History | Roster | News | Links

E-Mail | Big 12 | Depth Chart | Statistics | Pictures

Recruiting | Schedules | Scores | Vote | Jokes

  1996 Championship Team


The Nebraska Cornhuskers and Texas Longhorns were both picked to repeat as champions of their divisions this season.

The pre-season All Big XII Team features seven Huskers and four Longhorns. Nebraska quarterback Eric Crouch was named the conference Offensive Player-of-the-Year and Casey Hampton of Texas earned Defensive Player-of-the-Year honors.

Nebraska placed four players on the offensive All-Conference team. Tight end Tracey Wistrom, offensive lineman Russ Hochstein and center Dominic Raiola joined Crouch on the list. Defensively, linebacker Carlos Polk, rush end Kyle Vanden Bosch and punter Dan Hadenfeldt received the nods. The honor is the first such pre-season recognition for Wistrom, Hochstein and Raiola.

2000 Big 12 Conference Media Preseason Football Poll and Team

1. Nebraska
2. Kansas State
3. Colorado
4. Kansas
5. Iowa State
5. Missouri

1. Texas
2. Oklahoma
3. Texas A&M
4. Texas Tech
5. Oklahoma State
6. Baylor


WR Quincy Morgan, Kansas State
TE Tracey Wistrom, Nebraska
OL Russ Hochstein, Nebraska
OL Leonard Davis, Texas
C Dominic Raiola, Nebraska
OL Josh Lind, Oklahoma State
OL Randall Cummins, Kansas State
WR Javon Green, Colorado
QB Eric Crouch, Nebraska
RB Hodges Mitchell, Texas
RB Ricky Williams, Texas Tech
PK Jamie Rheem, Kansas State


DL/OLB Kyle Vanden Bosch, Nebraska
DL Casey Hampton, Texas
DL Justin Smith, Missouri
DL Shaun Rogers, Texas
DL/OLB Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma
LB Carlos Polk, Nebraska
LB Jashon Sykes, Colorado
DB Jarrod Cooper, Kansas State
DB Carl Nesmith, Kansas
DB Gary Baxter, Baylor
DB Kevin Curtis, Texas Tech
P Dan Hadenfeldt, Nebraska

Offensive Player of the Year -- Eric Crouch, Nebraska

Defensive Player of the Year -- Casey Hampton, Texas

Newcomer of the Year -- Bobby Pesavento, Colorado